TINY HOLES - City Of Siege


LP Regular

RRP $37.95
SAVE $6.95 (18%)
In stock. Usually ships within 2 to 3 business days.

Calculate Shipping

Date of release: May 17 2019

Tiny Holes is the avant-new wave-dance super group you never heard of. These future legends of
independent music skirted the fine line between obscurity and nothingness, producing a small, effective body
of cheeky noise. 35+ years later, Seattle uber-producer Jack Endino, who mixed and mastered the album,
says "The whole thing is impossibly brilliant".
The story so far: In the late 70s electronic music pioneer Steve Fisk (future producer of Nirvana, Screaming
Trees, Beat Happening, Soundgarden, Pigeonhed, and everyone else) and burgeoning sound artist Steve
Peters started a quirky electro-pop project called Customer Service, that was launched on the back of Fisk's
"Snake Attack", a 7" 45rpm (Mr. Brown Records) released under the name Anonymous. It included the faux
supermarket P.A. announcement, "customer service aisle 9, customer service aisle 9". After moderate
exposure in Olympia and Seattle (their first gig was opening for Gang of Four and local heroes The Beakers),
this duo morphed into a trio with future fanzine publisher, cassette-zine visionary, and Sub/Pop record mogul
Bruce Pavitt, called Professional Ethics.
A few rehearsals, one recording session (resulting in a song released on a Mr. Brown compilation tape), and
zero gigs later, the rhythm section of drummer Phillip Hertz and bass monster Paul Tison came on board,
and Tiny Holes was born. For a year they annoyed the neighbors and laid waste to dance floors in Olympia,
Portland, and Seattle with their slightly deranged exhortations. Before hanging up their skates they played one
last gig, a benefit for beloved community radio station KAOS-FM at Popeye's in Olympia. Thanks to engineer
Peter Randlette, that show was recorded on a mobile 8-track. It was given a cursory rough mix for posterity
and went into the closet, never quite forgotten.
35 years later, the master tapes were unearthed, baked, and transferred to digital. Legendary underground
producer Jack Endino agreed to handle the mix, and Seattle comix artist Peter Bagge was drafted to create
cover art. Pell Mell drummer Robert Beerman, now a graphic designer, joined as the design guru, and K
chieftain (and long-time Tiny Holes fan) Calvin Johnson agreed to make it a thing, and here we are.

1.Intro (:31)
2.Russian Satellites (2:08)
3.I'm In A Room (2:24)
4.Adventure (3:30)
5.Flying In An Airplane (3:28)
6.Dbfc (1:58)
7.Pounding Hooves (3:18)
8.City Of Siege (:53)
9.I Love You (4:34)
10.Walking On Air (2:27)
11.I Refuse (2:36)
12.Billy (4:54)
13.Come On Down (2:03)

Vinyl release of Tiny Holes - City Of Siege. Released through K Records and available on LP.


TINY HOLES - City Of Siege (LP)
Cat No: KLP271
Barcode: 0789856127115
Packaging: LP Regular
SKU 5218514
Barcode # 0789856127115
Brand Tiny Holes
Shipping Weight 0.5500kg
Format LP Regular

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Vinyl Destination users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

Others Also Bought

More From This Category