SUNWATCHERS - Illegal Moves


LP Regular

RRP $35.95
SAVE $7.95 (22%)
In stock. Usually ships within 2 to 3 business days.

Calculate Shipping

Date of release: Feb 22 2019

New York quartet Sunwatchers drew a line in the sand with their last album
"II", a powerful statement of the band's unique brand of spiritual, free-rock,
gonzo attitude and a progressive socio-political worldview. "Illegal Moves"
is their latest dispatch and second album for Trouble In Mind.
"Illegal Moves" is the band's most potent blend yet; a heady potion of
free-jazz, psychedelia, punk & noise rock that is both tender and ferocious;
the perfect soundtrack to smash capitalism and fix our broken system thru
sonic catharsis and revolution. Songs like "Everybody Play"and standout
track "Beautiful Crystals" insinuate themselves into your brain space with the
rubbery synchronicity of bassist Peter Kerlin and drummer Jason Robira, slyly
busking for your attention with an appealing melody before rounding onto a
sour note, as if to remind the listener that both ugliness and beauty are
necessary to the communal human experience. Elsewhere "New Dad Blues"
and "Greeneyed Pigmen (Get The Blade)" (despite their cheeky titles) sting
with a righteous fury beyond the piercing scree of guitarist Jim McHugh's
electric phin or Jeff Tobias' saxophone skronks, and the band's cover of
Alice Coltrane's "Ptah, the El Daoud" transforms her meditative elegy to the
Egyptian deity into a fiery protest march. The songs on "Illegal Moves"
crackle with an energy informed by passionate disgust of the status quo,
realized on the album cover by Scott Lenhardt's Mort Drucker-esque
illustration of the Kool-Aid Man battling the personifications of evil from
across the world. A psychedelicized avatar for the general wrath and action
that they believe in. McHugh says: "He's a corporate advertising mascot
going rogue and getting wise and turning his knowledge and strength against
the Arbiters of Oppression... turning the Psycho-emotional propagation of
exploitation and consumption against itself."
"Illegal Moves" is released on CD, black vinyl, limited "KOOLBRAVE" red
and blue swirl and available via all DSPs on February 22nd, 2019.

1.New Dad Blues
2.Beautiful Crystals
3.Greeneyed Pigmen (Get The Blade)
4.Everybody Play
5.Psychic Driving
6.Ptah, The El Daoud
7.Strollin' Coma Blues

Vinyl release of Sunwatchers - Illegal Moves. Released through TROUBLE IN MIND and available on LP.


SUNWATCHERS - Illegal Moves (LP)
Cat No: TIM143LP
Barcode: 630125982884
Packaging: LP Regular
SKU 5003001
Barcode # 630125982884
Brand Sunwatchers
Shipping Weight 0.5500kg
Format LP Regular

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Vinyl Destination users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category